Objectives & Features

 

Prospects for the future

  1. To promote cross-disciplinary, multiscale research and education in marine sciences.
  2. To review and implement multi-disciplinary courses in graduate studies and to develop a systematic curriculum on marine sciences and marine affairs for undergraduate students.
  3. To encourage globalization by developing international oceanographic research projects, participating in international organizations and conferences, and sponsoring international conferences and workshops.
  4. To plan for the next generation, university running 1,000 tonnage research vessel as a part of the national fleet of marine research.

Divisions

Physical Oceanography is a scientific discipline that aims to understand the evolving patterns of ocean currents and water properties such as temperature, salinity, dissolved oxygen and to explore the roles of ocean circulation in the earth’s eco-systems. The Physical Oceanography Division of the Institute of Oceanography at NTU has been an active research force in studying oceanographic processes on a wide range of scales: with spatial scales ranging from tens of meters in coastal/estuarine flows to hundreds of kilometers in ocean-basin-wide circulation; with temporal scales ranging from seconds in ocean waves to interannual variability of western boundary current.

Some recent research themes include the origin and the transport variability of Kuroshio, Kuroshio interactions with mesoscale eddies and topographic features, the generation and propagation of large-amplitude internal waves in South China Sea, the interactions between Typhoon and upper ocean, acoustic ray tracing of marine mammals, circulation dynamics in Taiwan Strait and East China Sea, and the dynamics of sediment-laden river plumes. Our approaches integrate field observation, remote sensing, numerical modeling, and theoretical studies. We continue to actively involve in international collaborations. We also maintain a strong tradition of field observation, and our seagoing technical and scientific group has proven ocean-sensing capability under a variety of sea conditions.


Implemented since 1990, the division currently offers core and special courses for M.S. and Ph.D. programs, covering studies in marine biogeochemical cycle, isotopes, diagenesis, environmental pollution, seawater chemistry, etc. Laboratories are equipped with state-of-the-art instruments including atomic adsorption spectrophotometers, ICP emission spectrometer, radioactivity counters, ion and gas chromatographs, autoanalyzer, together with ship-board-operated sampling devices and chemical probes. Faculty members and students of this division have widespread research interests and have participated in many integrated-scale exploration projects during the last decade. The results are fruitful, and have been published in a variety of scientific journals.

There are three basic research groups that concentrate on marine geology, geophysics and geochemistry. General subfields that our teaching and researches are interested in also include applied geology、environmental geochemistry、geophysics and underwater survey and tracking techniques. Specific research topics range from academic researches such as the kinematics and dynamics of the lithosphere and other tectonophysics to integrated MG&G survey of the seafloor、sedimentary structures and natural resources of the offshore area near Taiwan. Major observational instruments include single channel and multi-channel reflection seismic profiler、single beam and multi-beam echo sounder for bathymetry measurement、surface and deep-towed marine magnetometer and metal detector、underwater remote control vehicle and camera set、side-scan sonar、underwater heat probe for the thermal mapping of the seafloor heat flow etc. Furthermore, there are also analytical laboratory instruments such as electronic microscope、laser grain size analyzer X-ray diffractometer and radiography system ,α-counter、atomic absorption spectrophotometer and gas chromatography etc. Faculties of our division offer more than 30 different graduate courses as well as organize and design introductory courses on General Oceanography and other integrated courses for the Earth System Program and Oceanography Program. For many years since the establishment of this division, we have also been very enthusiastic in engaging the training of next generation experts that are capable of providing valuable MG&G conciliation and management for the interests of general public and the development of the local society. Projects such as the exploration of geothermal resources, deposition and dredging of the water dam, exploration and evaluation of marine resources such as ocean thermal energy、gas hydrate、sea-sands, seafloor mapping (for the purpose of cables and pipes routing) as well as underwater searching for missing vessels and airplanes have all been undertaken and yielded satisfactory results. We are proud of continuously being the major institute that is fully capable of operating modern cutting-edge sophisticate observational instruments as well as well experienced and keen in analyzing and interpreting the insights of the observed data. For the academic basic research, we keep close interactions with the international main stream as well as developing our own unique edges. Furthermore, we also pay close attention to potential paradigm shifts in the fields of Earth sciences to encourage an open-minded perspective as well as a lively academic atmosphere that we believe is inspirational for both the faculties and the students.

Research

Faculties of this division have been actively involved in pioneering all sorts of original and creative basic and applied researches under the support of National Sciences Council (NSC), Ministry of Education, Ministry of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Interior and Ministry of Communication. Furthermore, we have also initiated as well as actively taking parts in major domestic and international cooperative research projects such as the Ocean Drilling Project (ODP)、the Taiwan-US-French cooperated Taiwan subduction-collision system research (TAICRUST) and the Kuroshio edge exchange program (KEEP) and the research on atmospheric environments of Taiwan area. Besides making original and important academic contributions in basic researches in recent years, important interests on the investigation、archiving and managing strategy of the regional characteristics includes,
(1). Coastal and near shore hazards mitigation such as slope slumping、earthquake and tsunami.
(2). Plate convergence and sediment transport research in the Taiwan offshore area.
(3). Investigation of the distribution of marine resources such as gas hydrates in the continental margin.
Furthermore, other major research projects that we have already been or will be actively involved includes
(1). TEC (Taiwan Earthquake Center)
(2). Taiwan-French Eastern Taiwan seismotectonics observatory.
(3). TAIGER: Taiwan offshore – onshore seismic refraction survey of the dynamics of the regional plate tectonics.
(4). Research project for the sediment transport on the Taiwan continental shelf.
(5). Taiwan-Japan deep sea drilling project.
(6). Gashydrate distribution in the southwestern offshore Taiwan.
(7). Continental shelf survey near Taiwan.



The Division of Marine Biology and Fisheries embraces education and research on a broad spectrum of marine biological sciences, including marine biodiversity, ecosystem functions, marine ecology, evolution of marine organisms, and fisheries science and management. Faculty expertise ranges from the bottom of marine food web (producers) to the top predatory species, and includes both theoretical and practical approaches. We also encourage inter-disciplinary approaches through discussions and research collaborations. Our goal is to provide required knowledge and rational solutions to societal challenges.
 
Our research areas underlie some of the cutting edge in marine sciences, such as: 

  • The impacts of global climate change
  • Marine conservation biology
  • Sustainable fisheries management

目標特色

 

未來展望

  1. 發展跨領域、多尺度的宏觀海洋研究與教學。
  2. 強化碩、博士班課程教學,重新檢討「海洋科學學程」、「海洋事務學程」及通識課程,建立系統化課程結構,並與地球科學相關系所合作,共同培育新世代海洋科學人才。
  3. 積極參與國際海洋科學合作,鼓勵移地研究、參與學術會議與組織、爭取主辦國際會議與工作坊。
  4. 籌建1000噸級新研究船。

教學目標

物理海洋學的目標,是瞭解海流與海水的特性如溫度,鹽度,溶氧的長期變化,以及探討海洋環流在全球生態系統中所扮演的角色。台大海洋研究所海洋物理組積極的研究各種尺度的海洋運動,空間尺度由數十公尺的近岸/河口流到數百公里的大洋環流,而時間尺度則由數秒的波浪到數年的西方邊界流。

近年主要的研究課題包括,黑潮的生成以及其傳輸變異,黑潮與中尺度渦旋及地物的交互作用,南海內波的生成與傳遞,颱風與上層海洋的交互作用,以聲學追蹤海洋哺乳類,臺灣海峽與東海的環流動力結構,以及河口含沉積物水舌的動力結構。我們研究的方法包括海上監測、衛星遙測、數值模擬與理論探討。我們持續積極參與跨國合作計畫,並且維持海上調查傳統,而我們的海上技術與科學團隊也證實了在不同海況下皆具有對海洋監測的能力。


海洋化學組成立於民國79年,研究及教授主要包括海洋生物地球化學、同位素化學、沉積物化學、海洋環境污染、海水分析等領域。研究重點旨在瞭解全球環境變遷(含自然與人為)對台灣周遭海域及河口海洋生物地球化學的影響。利用微量元素及其同位素研究海洋生地化過程、循環及變化並環境污染對海域生態的影響。主要課題有:

  1. 邊緣海生物地球化學;
  2. 環境微量元素分析;
  3. 深海極端環境之生地化;
  4. 二氧化碳和汞之海氣交換;
  5. 顆粒與膠體之海氣傳輸;
  6. 海洋環境污染。

教研目標是提升海洋科學教育、培育海洋專業人員、探測了解海洋環境、開發海洋資源、保育海洋生態並盡社會服務的責任,及最終展望是「立足台灣,航向國際」。


本組分為海洋地質,地球物理及地球化學三個研究群。涵蓋的教學研究領域包括應用地質、環境地化、地球物理及水下偵搜等主要項目。研究領域從岩圈動力、地體架構、板塊理論等基礎研究進而整合海洋地質、地球化學與地球物理方法對於台灣週邊海域的基本海床環境與沉積構造之調查測繪以及資源探勘等。大型儀器有單頻及多頻道反射震測系統、單音束及多音束測深系統、海面及底拖式磁力儀及金屬探測器、水中遙控車及水下攝影裝備、側掃聲納系統、熱探針、電子顯微鏡、X光繞射儀及攝影系統、雷射粒徑分析儀、α計數器、氣相層析儀和原子吸光儀等設備。在教學方面,本組教師除依專長在本所開設30門左右的專業課程供研究生選修外,也在大學部開設海洋通識課程,地球系統科學學程、海洋科學學程之課程。多年來本組在進行基礎教學研究之餘,亦配合國家整體發展,積極培育人才並提供服務社會所需之專業學能及諮詢,項目包括環境的保育調查(地熱溫泉開發,水庫河床淤積及保育),海床資源開發調查(溫差發電、甲烷水合物、海砂勘查等)、海床測繪調查(包括電纜、海床管線敷設施工測勘)、水下偵搜服務(失事船隻、飛機的搜尋)等。本組多年來保持國內具有嫻熟操作大型的精密海洋地球物理儀器,並且處理及研判解析觀測資料之完整能力的一貫優勢,在基礎學理研究上也維持與國際主流互動。近年來地球科學的核心研究領域頗有變遷。跨領域的整合思考、基本資料以及空間資訊的匯整日益重要。本組近來對於新聘師資遴選也特別注意因應領域移轉,優先考量諸如海域地質生物、環境地球化學以及能夠建構參考模型、匯整過去辛苦收集之各種觀測資料所呈現的地球架構之不同面向與特性等重要而具潛力之新領域,以期加強研究前緣。

學術研究

本組研究領域從岩圈動力、地體架構、板塊理論等基礎研究進而整合海洋地質、地球化學與地球物理方法對於台灣週邊海域的基本海床環境與沉積構造之調查測繪以及資源探勘等。教師除積極進行國科會支援的各種先導地球科學基礎研究專題計畫外,也積極主導和參與國、內外大型的合作研究計畫,如經由國際合作推動的海洋鑽探計畫(ODP),與美、法學者合作的台灣隱沒碰撞系統研究(TAICRUST),與法國地球物理學家合作的ACT海底測繪計畫,以及在國內推動的黑潮邊緣交換過程研究(KEEP)和台灣地區大氣環境變遷研究。近年來不僅在基礎學理研究上有原創而重要的貢獻,對於國土環境的瞭解調查、永續經營也注重以下的研究重點,如
(1).環境災害如陸坡崩塌、地震、海嘯等的調查及減輕災害對策研究。
(2).台灣近岸板塊聚合運動及沉積物搬運過程研究。
(3).大陸棚及陸坡資源如甲烷水合物調查探勘與研究。
此外預期已(或將)積極參與的重要整合型計畫尚有:
(1). 台灣地震中心計劃: 參與其中之地表災害及活斷層構造分佈,包括古地震分析,活斷層之海陸延伸等研究以及數值動力參考模型建構。
(2). 東台灣台法合作地震觀測計劃: 進行台灣東部海域海底地震儀觀測以及資料分析解釋。
(3). TAIGER計劃: 台灣板塊活動動力過程的海陸震波折射探測計劃。
(4). 台灣陸棚沉積物搬運過程研究計劃: 調查陸源沉積自陸向海的搬運過程(含利用有機地化數據進行推論)。
(5). 中日合作深海鑽探先期計畫: 與日本JAMSTEC合作,在西南海域進行深海下潛研究。
(6). 甲烷水合物研究: 台灣西南海域甲烷水合物探測。
(7). 大陸礁層調查計劃: 由內政部主導,針對聯合國海洋法定義的大陸礁層(可延伸至350海哩)進行地質與地球物理探測。


本組的教學與研究領域涵蓋了海洋生物多樣性、生態系功能、生態學、演化生物學、漁業科學和資源管理等。本組師資專長相當多元,從海洋食物網的初級生產者至頂端消費者,亦從基礎理論到實際應用。本組也強調跨領域合作,經由與其他海洋學門的討論及合作,擴展研究的範疇。我們的研究內容也與當今社會面臨的問題接軌,例如海洋漁業資源的永續利用及海洋保育,以提供社會及政府必要的知識與合理的解決辦法。 針對全球海洋生態問題,我們的研究包括:

  • 全球氣候變遷對海洋生態系的衝擊
  • 海洋保育生物學
  • 漁業資源的永續利用及管理